Karakas of Vedic Astrology - 1

So, now some interesting things in next 3-4 posts. Today, 7 Karakas of Astrology. Let's split this post in two parts, else it will be real long post with too much of information in one go. Today, let's see how to find various Karakas and tomorrow we will see what each Karaka represents and how things related to a particular Karaka can be felt during its Mahadasha/Antardasha?

So, 1st of all, what is meant by Karaka? Karaka literally means significator or indicator. Like Jupiter is karaka of wealth, so Jupiter's position in horoscope can indicate how wealthy a person can get? Timing of getting wealth? Similarly, Venus is Karaka of Marriage, so Venus Mahadasha/Antardasha can indicate the timing of marriage. This is very generic explanation of Karaka, predictions depend on many other things too along with Karaka.

Likewise, all 7 planets (leaving aside Rahu and Ketu) become Karaka/Significator/Indicator of one or the other aspect of life. So, lets see what are these Karakas, their roles and how to find them?

Now these Karakas are of two types, Sthir (Immovable) and Chara (Movable). Sthir Karaka are same for everyone, like Sun is Sthir Atma Karaka for all of us, Mercury is Sthir Amatya Karaka for all and likewise all planets take roles of Sthir Karakas of different things for all of us.

Here in this and next post, we will see Chara (Movable) Karakas. What is meant by Movable? It depends on the degrees of planets in horoscope and everyone is born with different degrees of planets in horoscope. Thats why, these Karaka are different/movable for all of us. To understand this, please look at this example -
Every horoscope comes with a table (like in picture here), which provides us the degrees of each planet. So, we will leave aside Rahu and Ketu (as these two are imaginary illusive planets) and start arranging rest of the 7 planets (Sun, Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn) in descending order of degrees. Like in picture here, Mercury is at 22.55*, Venus is at 22.24*, Mars is at 15.52*, Saturn is at 13.08*, Moon is at 9.49*, Sun is at 8.02* and Jupiter is at 3.22*. So, now -

  • Planet with the highest degree - Mercury is Atma-Karaka (Soul Significator). 
  • Planet with the 2nd highest degree - Venus is Amatya-Karaka (Pathway Significator).
  • Planet with the 3rd highest degree - Mars is Bhatru-Karaka. (Sibling Significator).
  • Planet with the 4th highest degree - Saturn is Matru-Karaka (Mother Significator).
  • Planet with the 5th highest degree - Moon is Putra-Karaka (Chidren Significator).
  • Planet with the 6th highest degree - Sun is Ghatni-Karaka (Obstacles Significator).
  • Planet with the 7th highest degree - Jupiter is Dara-Karaka (Spouse Significator).
Now, if someone is born with Mercury at lesser degrees, then Mercury won't be his Atma Karaka, some other planet which is at highest degree in that horoscope will take that place of Atma Karaka. That's why, they are called as Chara (Movable) Karakas.

Hope it was understandable.

Next post will describe what each Karaka represents and how things related to a particular Karaka can be felt during its Mahadasha/Antardasha?

Hope this helps. Thanks, 



A True and real master of divine science of Astrology. I stumbled upon his work and didn't think twice before booking a consultation and it exceeded my expectations. It is the highest quality of consultation I have ever ..
I discovered Vishal Saxena two years ago during the most challenging time in my life. I was struggling through losses in my career, in my relationship with others and in my own health. I spent months searching for answer..
I had been looking for an experienced astrologer on the internet for a long time. And finally I found him in the face of Vishal. The decision to receive consultations appeared after reading articles on his side. His ..
I have consulted Vishal on various questions and issues in my life, and I have been immensely impressed with his honesty, expertise, perceptiveness, guidance, and professionalism. He is impressively knowledgeable and gi..
I picked Vishal S Saxena to do a Astrological reading for me because I felt a certain pull towards him and been a student of Astrology myself I know this is an important factor when considering a reading with Astrologer...
I highly recommend Vishal for any consultation you seeking. True value for money and trust me you won't be disappointed. People read reviews and think possibly this might be written under any influence - close friends, f..
Vishal Saxena is a new generation astrologer who believe in combining logic and common sense in reading and analysing charts . If one reads his analysis one would find it to be 100% personalized and educative . This gu..
If you wish to get genuine answers about your horoscope, you need to speak with Vishal ji. He is genuine, explains with a high level of clarity and will no simply tell you what you want to hear, but will tell you what he..
Vishal Sir is a true Gem in astrology... He gives honest(no sugar coating )practical consultation... His mailed report seems like consulting him personally when you read it... He has so comprehensive, detailed and sim..
I was mentally perplexed until I heard Vishal's words. My chart is a typical case of Saturn dominance, not only most of all planets in Saturn's Nakshaktra, but Sade sati is at its peak. I was about to change my career pa..
Recap After having a reading with Vishal back in May he warned me of some health issue I may have and to just watch it. Because of this I decided to get some test done and blow me if the Dr didn't confirm back to me..
Vishal Saxena is one of the best astrologers that I have come across throughout my astrological life. He's got a very good knowledge and insight into astrology. Also he's very updated on the subject and he knows what he'..
I have been interested in astrology for almost decade and a half, have consulted few astrologers as well. Since i read a lot on the subject i happened to come across his page and got hooked. I then took 2 consultations f..
Vishal's analysis has been instrumental in my career growth. The way he explains the situation based on the planets and their combinations is very easy to comprehend. He is always available for any guidance or advise whi..
I have consulted Vishal on a host of topics ranging from marriage to career and from property disputes to understanding of Mahadashas. He is one I have been privileged to meet in my life not only because of his knowledge..
I started following Mr Saxena's Facebook page on Astrology a while ago. I found it randomly and was quickly surprised about how much great knowledge he has on Astrology and I read his thorough articles on his website. I ..

Leave a Reply

2 comments on this post Comments

Vishal S Saxena - Astrologer

2018-09-05 12:20:44

@ Nikhil - only planets are karaka, not ascendant.


2018-09-04 22:48:43

Sir, but what if the Ascendant degree is higher than the degrees of the planets. As my ascendant is Leo. Should we consider it???